Shopping cart

  • No products in the cart.
GIVE US A CALL: 252-619-2332
Outer Banks Gluten Free Baker Blog

Gluten-Free Diet---Some Hard and Fast Ground Rules

Gluten-Free Diet---Some Hard and Fast Ground Rules

 Gluten-Free Diet---Some Hard and Fast Rules


First of all, if you are reading this, you know the purpose of a gluten-free diet is the primary treatment for those of us with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. A gluten-free diet completely excludes the protein gluten found in grains such as barley, wheat, rye, and oats (due to contamination issues). Eating a gluten-free diet helps in the prevention of symptoms and complications.

Those new to following a gluten-free diet know this is quite a drastic change, and with all drastic changes, it takes some getting used to. Initially, this diet (life change) may be frustrating  but with a little creativity and patience there is no need to feel deprived by gluten-free restrictions. To begin, let's focus on all the yummy foods that you can eat instead. 

You will feel pleasantly surprised by all the gluten-free options available. You may also be surprised by the amount of foods that are sneaky, sneaky, sneaky!!

 Are you wondering what foods are gluten-free and which ones are not? Let's begin!

SAFE FOODS --these are foods that are naturally gluten-free (of course, this means no additives, plain, not breaded, marinated or in sauce):

  • Eggs 
  • Fresh meats 
  • Poultry
  • Seafood
  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Most dairy
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • beans

Safe "Alternative" Grains--(as before make sure these are not with gluten-containing preservatives or hidden gluten-filled additives):

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat (soba), groats, kasha
  • Chickpeas (besan, cici, garbanzo beans)
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Garfava
  • Gluten-free flours (bean,corn, potato, soy, tapioca) 
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Mesquite (pinole)
  • Millet
  • Montina (Indian ricegrass)
  • Oats (but make sure specified gluten-free)
  • Potato
  • Quinoa (hie)
  • Rice
  • Sorghum 
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Taro Root
  • Teff (tef)

Foods that May or May Not be gluten-free--ingredients that are not so straightforward----

  • Binders
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Derivatives
  • Fillers
  • Flavoring
  • Food Additives (malt flavoring)
  • Modified Food Starch
  • "Natural" flavorings
  • Seasonings
  • Spice blends
  • Starch




Forbidden Grains--

Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley 
  • Rye
  • Malt, malt flavoring, malt vinegar (made from barley)
  • Spelt
  • Triticale (a wheat and rye hybrid)
  • Wheat---this can be especially challenging because there are numerous names for this---( Durum flour, Farina, Kamut, Semolina)

Foods that contain gluten--avoid unless labeled Gluten-Free or made from corn, rice, soy...other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer
  • Breads and baked goods
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Biscuits
  • Brownies
  • Cakes and cupcakes
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • Donuts
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood (think imitation crab meat)
  • Licorice
  • Marinades (think teriyaki)
  • Matzo
  • Muffins
  • Pastas
  • Pastries
  • Pie
  • Pie crusts
  • Pizza crust
  • Pretzels
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Roux
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soy sauce (first ingredient is wheat)
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Stuffing
  • Vegetables in sauce

Lets address the Oats issue---

Oats are tricky, they can be contaminated during growing and processing stages with wheat. Most agree that unless specifically labeled gluten-free to avoid oats.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll To TopScroll To Top